Posted by: Karla Stewart Okala | September 5, 2010

Solitary Confinement

Your brutal silence envelops me
like a shroud,
a tailor-made prison,
ever shrinking,
constricting my soul.

I long to rise from this dead place;
I want to plead for my life.
But fear of your words
stabbing me to
a quicker death,
keeps me frozen.

Your silence is a wall I cannot see through,
and one I am afraid to break down.
So once again I offer myself
on the altar of reconciliation,
allow misconceptions of me
to be truths,
and submit once more
to this death
to which you have condemned me.

Responses

  1. Giving someone the silent treatment is abusive and a club designed to keep you under control. This is bad and your relationship is doomed if you don’t insist on better conflict resolution. You can read my article on conflict resolution if you like. I feel your pain, but it is not pain that is deserved or helpful or appropriate.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • Thank you for your kind words. Fortunately, I am no longer with this person and am in recovery. This poem was written while I was still with the person to try and express the deep pain caused by the silent treatment. I know other women who are suffering with this. I hope that more people will become aware of this type of abuse and its impact on families!


Leave a Reply

Categories

